Football finance, from the outside inThe Orange Ledger
By ·

Crystal Palace, rebuilt from the accounts: the club that files its player wages

Five years of the club's accounts, the group's, and a debenture registered in August 2025. Palace's reconstructed squad cost ratio ran at about 90% for three seasons with almost no player trading, and sits at about 74% this season because the trading pipeline turned on. The accounts also do something no other club rebuilt so far does: they state the players' wages, which changes how the earlier three should be read. And they show a £150m refinancing arranged eleven days after the ownership changed.

Two-panel chart: Crystal Palace's reconstructed squad cost ratio by season from 2020/21 to a 2026/27 estimate, falling from 119% to 74%; and profit on player sales by season against transfer creditors at 30 June, showing trading turning on from FY25.

Crystal Palace is the fourth club in this series and the one that has changed the method. PSRwatch’s post-window review put the club’s squad cost ratio at 90%, five points above the League’s green threshold, on the same all-staff basis as the others. Palace’s accounts give a different number, and they also give something the other three clubs’ don’t: the players’ wages, stated as a figure. That single line is worth reading before the ratio.

What the accounts say

CPFC Limited files full accounts to 30 June; CPFC 2010 Limited files the group’s. The year to 30 June 2025:

The line the other clubs don’t file

For Fulham, Brentford and Bournemouth the accounts give one payroll figure for every employee, and the squad’s share has to be estimated; those pieces used 73–76% of wages and salaries, the range Kieran Maguire has given, and said so. Palace’s “player wage costs” makes the share observable for one club: on the face of the disclosures, £110.8m of £127.3m, 87%, and 84–93% in each of the four years before, leaving roughly £16.5m attributable to the rest of the payroll. The KPI’s accounting perimeter is not disclosed.

What it covers may include signing-on fees, bonuses and the coaching staff, which would make it close to the rule’s perimeter; it may not. And Palace may simply have a leaner structure than most. What the number establishes is narrower and more useful: the squad share is a club-specific variable, not a constant, with Maguire’s 73–76% as one benchmark and Palace’s filed 84–93% as another. If the earlier three clubs’ squads took the same proportion of payroll as Palace’s, their ratios would be roughly seven to ten points higher than published this morning; whether they do is unknown. Those three pieces now carry that caution, their bands should be read as wider on the upside, and this one uses the filed figure with the Maguire share as the low case.

Rebuilding the ratio

Profit on player sales, and this is where Palace differs from the other three. Because it does so much work in the result, it gets a ledger:

PlayerSaleBoughtEst. book value at saleEst. profit after costs
Olise (Bayern, Jul 2024) and others, FY25£66.1m filed
Eze (Arsenal, Aug 2025)≈£60m incl. add-ons£17m, QPR, 2020≈£3m≈£54m
Guéhi (Man City, Jan 2026)≈£20m≈£20m, Chelsea, 2021; final year≈£2m≈£17m
Édouard, Ebiowei, others≈£4.5m≈£1m≈£3m
FY26 estimate≈£74m (band £65–85m)
Lacroix (Chelsea, Aug 2026)≈£52m≈£15m, Wolfsburg, 2024≈£9m≈£40m
Muñoz (Aug 2026)≈£22m£7m, Genk, 2023≈£2m≈£19m
Brennan Johnson (Aug 2026)≈£22mbought Jan 2026 for a similar sum≈£21m≈nil
Imray, Devenny, Ozoh (academy)≈£15mnilnil≈£14m
FY27 estimate to date≈£73m (band £60–80m)
Three-year average≈£70m

Fees from Transfermarkt and Sky, converted at 0.85; book values from purchase fee, date and contract; 5% direct costs; sell-ons (QPR’s on Eze is reported) unquantified and covered by the bands.

The result:

TreatmentRatioDistance to 85%
Three-year averaged profit (central)≈74%+11
Current-season profit only≈74%+11
No disposal profit (underlying)≈99%−14
Low-wage case (Maguire share)≈69%+16

Band on the central figure: 66–84%. Confidence Medium: the filed wage line removes the largest uncertainty, but the FY26 and FY27 profits are estimated from headline fees and book values, and the European revenue is a guess. What survives the band: Palace is inside the green line on either profit treatment, its underlying cost base is about 99% of revenue, the same structural picture as the other three, and the difference is that Palace now sells every year. The trading effect is about 25 points, Brentford-sized, and it makes the point this whole series is about: for some clubs player trading is no longer peripheral income, it is part of the operating model, and it is what creates the regulatory room.

Six seasons on one method

Orange Ledger reconstructed ratios, the same formula every season, on the filed player-wage line.

SeasonTurnover £mRelevant wages £mAmortisation £mProfit on sales £mReconstructed SCR
2020/21134.4127.536.59.6≈119%
2021/22160.0114.934.20.0≈95%
2022/23179.5115.440.50.3≈90%
2023/24189.3115.245.91.3≈90%
2024/25195.3126.354.066.1≈88%
2026/27 (est.)2141287273 (avg 70)≈74%

Two things the series says:

The refinancing

At 30 June 2025 Palace was funded by a standing advance against its Premier League central distributions (£63.5m, up from £35.3m in 2021, growing every year), a £27.5m term loan in the group, and £54.6m of loans from its parent, Palace Holdco UK, of which £50m had been waived during the year and taken to reserves. On 23 June 2025 Woody Johnson agreed to buy John Textor’s stake in Palace Holdco; the purchase completed on 24 July.

On 4 August 2025, both existing facilities were repaid in full and the group entered “a new loan agreement for £150,000,000”. The debenture registered at Companies House three days later names the parties: CPFC Limited as borrower, CPFC 2010 and CPFC Selhurst Park as guarantors, Goldman Sachs International as arranger, Kroll Agency Services as agent and Kroll Trustee Services as security trustee. The security is the group’s: Selhurst Park itself, its revenue from tickets and hospitality, “all present and future book debts and all other amounts at any time recoverable or receivable by any Chargor”, the insurances and the shares. On the wording of the debenture that appears broad enough to capture League distributions and transfer receivables, although neither is separately identified by name. The earlier charges were released a fortnight later.

Crystal Palace's August 2025 refinancing: the central-funds advance, term loan and owner loans replaced by a £150m facility arranged by Goldman Sachs with Kroll as security trustee, secured on the stadium, specified revenues and broadly defined receivables

Two things the filings say about that. A standing advance against TV money, of the kind Brentford ran with Barclays, was replaced by a much larger arranged facility with a security trustee, in the same month the majority owner changed. And the accounts book £7.5m of imputed interest on deferred transfer payments, up from £4.8m, the same line Bournemouth (£13.3m) and Brentford (£6.0m) carry: the cost of buying on instalments, quantified.

The second test

Palace are in the Europa League, so UEFA’s 70% applies on the calendar year, with UEFA’s own numerator and a 36-month transfer result prorated to twelve. The bridge, so the figure can be reproduced:

UEFA calendar-2026 reconstruction£mBasis
Relevant-person employee costs (players, coaches, employer charges)≈126blend of the FY26 and FY27 estimates
Amortisation of registrations≈66blend of FY26 ≈62 and FY27 ≈72
Agents and loan result≈11expensed portion
Numerator≈203
Adjusted operating revenue, 12 months to 31 Dec 2026≈210blend of FY26 (Conference League run, FA Cup) and FY27
Net transfer result, 36 months to 31 Dec 2026, prorated to 12≈71≈£213m of disposal profit from transactions dated inside Jan 2024–Dec 2026, listed below; nothing material in Jan–Jun 2024
Denominator≈281
Estimated UEFA squad cost ratio≈73%band 65–81%

The transaction-dated ledger behind the £213m: Olise and the other FY25 disposals (July 2024 onward, £66.1m filed, all inside the window); Eze (August 2025, ≈£54m), Guéhi (January 2026, ≈£17m) and the smaller FY26 sales (≈£3m); Lacroix (≈£40m), Muñoz (≈£19m), Brennan Johnson (≈nil) and the three academy sales (≈£14m), all August 2026. Every material disposal since January 2024 falls inside the 36 months, so the fiscal-year and calendar-window totals coincide.

About three points over the cap on the central figure, with the band straddling the line. A first breach of up to ten percentage points falls in UEFA’s lowest grid, with a financial measure of 10–25% of the calculated squad-cost excess, the money amount by which the numerator exceeds what 70% would allow. The transfer component is set; revenue and costs run to 31 December. Palace’s sales are what keep it near the line at all: without them the UEFA ratio would be near 100%.

What this doesn’t say

What it does say: Palace’s costs sit at about revenue before player trading, as at the other three clubs; its Premier League position has substantial estimated room because its trading pipeline works, while its UEFA position sits much closer to the separate 70% line, about eleven points inside one and three points over the other on the same summer’s business; and its credit position, a £150m facility secured over the ground, specified revenues and broadly defined receivables, depends on that pipeline continuing. And it says one thing about method that outlasts this article: where a club files its player wages, the ratio can be built on a number rather than a share, and the one club that does file them puts the share higher than the estimate the rest of this series has used.

Sources and caveats. CPFC Limited accounts FY21–FY25 and CPFC 2010 Limited consolidated accounts FY25 (Companies House; scanned, OCR'd, totals checked); charge 072707930007 (DLA Piper group debenture, Kroll Trustee Services as security trustee, created 4 August 2025) and its counterparts on CPFC 2010 Ltd and CPFC Selhurst Park Ltd; satisfaction statements of 18 August 2025; PSRwatch's Crystal Palace window review of 4 September 2026 for the 90% comparison; Transfermarkt and Sky for the 2025 and 2026 windows; FA intermediary-fee table. The £150m facility size is from the group accounts' post-balance-sheet note; its terms are not filed. "Player wage costs" is the club's KPI and its definition is not stated; employer charges are added pro rata. The FY26 and FY27 disposal profits are calculated from reported fees and estimated book values. Three-year averaging is the treatment described by Maguire and Weatherspoon, provisional pending the League's rule text; the UEFA figure applies Article 93's method approximately. Bands: ±9–10 points. Independent estimate, not an official calculation, and not advice.

crystal-palacesquad-cost-ratioaccountscompanies-housetransfer-credituefa